The Neighborhood Sing-Along - Miss Mary Mack

©Nina Crews from The Neighborhood Sing-Along 2011

I have just returned from Sheboygan Wisconsin. Spent a day talking about my books at the Mead Public Library and leading an art workshop at the Kohler Art Center. Spent two evenings talking shop with other authors and illustrators while tasting Wisconsin specialties like fried cheese curds. (Yes, fried cheese curds.) Here are some photos of me in an article about the festival from the  Sheboygan Press. You can look at them here.  (But be patient, there are lots of photos of Steven Kellogg first!)

During my morning presentation I learned something new which is the reason why this post is titled “Liar, Liar, Liar”. Apparently in Chicago, the song, “Miss Mary Mack,” is sung a little differently than what is printed in my book, The Neighborhood Sing-Along. Children’s author  James Kennedy sat in on my session and told us that when kids get the end of the song they shout “liar, liar, liar!” because the song is all lies. I am sad to say that I don’t think I ever really got the joke as a kid, but no room for subtleness in Chi-town. Fun!

Also fun is James Kennedy’s project the 90 second Newbery.  Kids of all ages create a 90 second film based on their favorite Newbery award winning book.

